PDA

View Full Version : New Parralels????

Pat Miles
02-29-2004, 01:51 PM
I need your collective opinions regarding a new set of paralels. I am looking at a set of 1/8 Brown & Sharpe paralels that are on sale in one Encos flyers.I know the name B&S but have never used any of their products(newbie here).Any comments on my selection and manufacturer would be greatly appreciated.

PeteM
02-29-2004, 03:04 PM
B&S used to make quality stuff, but now their 1-2-3 blocks and probably their parallels are made in China. The quality is the same as most any other Chinese source. So, I wouldn't pay extra for the B&S name compared to house brands, Enco, Grizzly, etc. But on sale, they might be a good deal and come in a nicer case?

Assuming you're using these to elevate work in a vise for home shop projects, even the Indian-made parallels work OK. Parallels are pretty simple to make. The point is, unless you're using these for precision layout, inspection, or machining I wouldn't worry too much about a brand for a first set of shop parallels. Just my opinion.

SGW
02-29-2004, 04:33 PM
Waiting for Thrud to go ballistic about B&S "high precision" here....

I've got a set of ten pair of 1/8" parellels I got from Travers a few months ago. They were on sale for $27.95 or something, complete with molded case, and they're good. At least, I can't find anything wrong with them. They're parallel, and the pairs are matched in height to a couple tenths, and they're hardened. There are a few surface blemishes, but nothing that causes a problem.
The Travers number is 57-101-400.

nheng
02-29-2004, 05:02 PM
I have an Enco 6 pair set, 1/8" thick X 1/2" thru 1-5/8". They were individually wrapped in pairs, surfaces "flawless", decent molded case and are within a few tenths in height and thickness over length. I think they were $29 and I'm sorry but Enco won't give search results for the part # at the moment.
Den

John Stevenson
02-29-2004, 05:22 PM