X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BigBoy1
    • Jun 2006

OT Electrical Question

I just returned from a trip to Europe and the power there started be thinking. Why does North America use the 110 volt, 60 cycle as standard household power while in Europe, they have 220 volt, 50 cycle? Is there some scientific or technical reason why the two are different or is is something like, "I'll make mine different because I want to"? Inquiring minds would like to know.
    Bill

Being ROAD KILL on the Information Super Highway and Electronically Challenged really SUCKS!!

Every problem can be solved through the proper application of explosives, duct tape, teflon, WD-40, or any combo of the aforementioned items.
  • ogre
    • Jan 2012

Im not a certified electrician but i know 220 uses less amps. Someone told me since 220 pulls less amps that it saved money compared to 110. Then i read somewhere(popular mechanics) that that is false. So i dunno whos right anymore but if it does pull less amps and save money then thats my guess..

Comment

• MaxHeadRoom
      • Apr 2010

The 1ph domestic supply is also derived slightly differently, in N.A. the domestic supply is derived from a 120-0-120v centre tap 1ph transformer, where the 0 tap is the grounded neutral, in Europe where it is 220/240v 1ph, it is derived from a 3 phase transformer, 1 phase and the star (grounded) neutral.
      Another difference is that in N.A. the neutral is re-referenced to ground at the service panel, in much of Europe, the neutral is grounded at the source only.
      The reason for 240v in Europe cannot really be the load demand issue, as early domestic installations did not have large appliances as is the norm today, much of first installations were for electric lighting to replace piped gas lamp systems.
      The same load on 240 and 120 is the same wattage, just lower current on 240. No money saving, just wire diameter is smaller on 240 for the same load requirements.
      Max.