PDA

View Full Version : Not mystery metal but mystery PLASTIC? Help..

JRouche
09-15-2012, 01:20 AM
Ok, ok. I know the mystery metal posts get on some folks nerves. I get it, why work with mystery metal? Well as a home shop hobbyist I need to get inexpensive materials. I dont have alot of money to buy clean stock. I have my fair share of saw drops that I scrounge from the local shops that work with metal. And I have my honey pots that I frequent. I try to see what they are working with at the time when I dig through the "scrap" metal cut off box and try to get some idents of the metal from the shop. And they sell it off at about 9-13 cents a pound. I love my scrap metal...

But a new company is in town and its plastics they work with. UHMW, Teflon, Acetal and some other identifiable plastics.

My question? How can I tell the diff between Acetal, UHMW and Teflon? I picked up some drops and they are all white or off white. The thing is I know what these plastic parts are. So its not a big deal with these cuts. But I started thinking. What if there is no ident for the plastic that I might buy. Mainly the Acetal and UHMW. The Teflon is a bright white so its pretty much noticeable.

How can I tell the diff from UHMW and Acetal? And for that matter Teflon?

I know. Its hard to give advice with mystery materials. There is no firm determination. For metal maybe (there are at least some spark tests) how bout plastics?

The Acetel seems "stiffer and harder". The UMHW seems softer and more gummy when cutting.

So my question? Is there a simple but not complete test (like the spark test with steel) to get me close to what type of scrap plastics I buy? Thanks in advance, JR....

Frank Ford
09-15-2012, 02:33 AM
I believe it's been posted before - here's a cool flow chart for identifying plastics by "spark test" (burning):

http://www.recycleduklimited.com/files/burning-1.pdf

customcutter
09-15-2012, 08:47 AM