PDA

View Full Version : Spindle Head stock repair

Gunsmithing
10-08-2012, 11:58 AM
:mad:This one found today on PM that I had to for other tools in past years that looks like it will cost and may take long time to fix. The fix is low cost and most of time will take less than week to have done.

[Hone the bore and have the spinlde hard chrome and ground This type work in done ever day and auto shops in most towns. They do a great job and low cost.]:)

I pulled the spindle out for inspection and this is what I found. Is there any way to repair this? Should I even try? Maybe just replace the head stock and spindle. I was hoping I could press in a brass sleve and turn down the spindle slightly. What do you Guys think. I am a big time rookie. ****

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/attachments/f25/60446d1349666778t-9-south-bend-spindle-toast-imag0732.jpg

ogre
10-08-2012, 01:57 PM
I cannot get your pic to be bigger so i cannot see the damage. But I have seen people weld onto a shaft and re-turn it,but im not too sure i would w a headstock spindle cause i dont know if itll cause any warping or not. I am new also,so theres gotta b a better way. Hopefully someone will chime in.

Rosco-P
10-08-2012, 02:28 PM
:mad:This one found today on PM that I had to for other tools in past years that looks like it will cost and may take long time to fix. The fix is low cost and most of time will take less than week to have done.

[Hone the bore and have the spindle hard chrome and ground This type work in done ever day and auto shops in most towns. They do a great job and low cost.]:)

This thread: http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/south-bend-lathes/9-south-bend-spindle-toast-253601/
in the SB fanatics forum.