PDA

View Full Version : looking for collet ideas

Mike Amick
10-11-2012, 02:29 AM
I have a Cincinnati toolmaster mill with monoset collets. I was used to a
MT3 with drawbar ... and am really starting to dislike the collets .. it just seems
to take forever to change collets. And I really hate it when I only want to put an
indicator in for hole centering or whatever. I was thinking about finding an extra
collet nut .. and milling it down to where there is only a few threads ... that way
when I am doing work that doesn't require strength .. I can screw my quick nut
on real quick. Any Cincinati junk boxes out there (for a nut) ? .. or even better
an alternative for my monosets.

I see where I can buy monoset adapters that take MT and others .. but .. I don't
see how a MT or something similar would stay in without a drawbar.

Jaakko Fagerlund
10-11-2012, 04:08 AM
I don't understand how a Morse taper is better than ANY collet system, but to help you, I would look in to getting ER collets. They don't need to be unscrewed totally off, just loose to change a tool, unless you need to change the size of the collet.

Gunsmithing
10-11-2012, 10:46 AM
Morse taper is a good collet and a draw bar can be made.
The are two thing about morse I see is draw back in very few sizes and the draw bar use 1/2 threar that keep to small size rod in the head stock.
I use both 3C and 5C collets they both work with inside spinlde tapers and does not use the chuck mount.

Dave

Jaakko Fagerlund
10-11-2012, 02:30 PM
Okay, educate/humor me: What is so good about Morse taper collets? Morse taper doesn't let go like other collets do (ER, R8, 5C etc.)

Mcgyver
10-11-2012, 04:37 PM
I see where I can buy monoset adapters that take MT and others .. but .. I don't
see how a MT or something similar would stay in without a drawbar.

I don't think it will either....those adapters are for taper shank drills. lateral loads on a MT without drawbar can make it come loose.