PDA

View Full Version : Free time on my hands - Suggestions requested

kyfho
10-14-2012, 08:54 PM
Hello HSM's,

I have been an active member here for a while; contributing occassionally, lurking mostly, I am a rookie, and loving all the valuable tidbits that I have gleaned.

Two weeks ago, I had a mild heart attack and subsequent quadruple bypass surgery. I am now faced with 6 to 8 weeks of enforced free time and am looking for suggestions to keep me busy in the shop.
I have to start light, no lifting or pulling over 3 lbs, but should be able to increase activities as I heal.

I have started with simple cleaning and organizing of my tools and will move on to continuing to hone my HSS sharpening skills for my lathe tooling.
I have a little Grizzly G4000, 9x19 lathe that I am learning on and a BP 1J that I need to put a VFD on to begin milling operations.

I am going to go back over the Shop Made Tools thread again, there was tons of stuff there I'd love to try.

Any other suggestions for small or short term "rookie"/apprentise projects is greatly appreciated. Don't let me go crazy with boredom.

Thanks,
kyfho

Boucher
10-14-2012, 10:02 PM
Look over Frank Fords site. His small follow rest is on my to do list.
http://www.frets.com/HomeShopTech/Tooling/MiniFollower/minifollower.html

Bill736
10-14-2012, 10:14 PM
I find that organizing small parts , such as machine screws, washers, etc. , is light duty work that pays big dividends in saved time and saved frustration later on. Most of us have boxes or cans of assorted small parts and fasteners that have needed organizing for a long time , and you never know what you'll find . I hope you're back in action soon !

dalee100
10-14-2012, 10:30 PM
Hi,

Perhaps for a more machining oriented venture, maybe try a small model "steam" engine. There are many free plans for pretty simple "wobbler" type engines that take very little material and can be done on a lathe alone. Google Elmer's Engines or others.

Heal well!

dalee