PDA

View Full Version : Drill bit quality

Geoff K
10-17-2012, 11:03 AM
I'm a woodworker and sailor by hobby but find occasional use for metal work. The sailing requires stainless steel work at times, always 304 or 316 SS. I'm puzzled from my reading of types of drill bits and how to use them. Just about anything works OK in wood, but with steel I've melted several bits and have rarely gotten through SS. (An exception is a set of 5 DeWalt bits with a stepped cutting edge.)

What kind of bit should I get for general metal use including stainless steel?

How do I know if a bit set is quality? Is price a reasonable assurance? Do I get what I pay for? Are there manufacturers that reliably produce quality products? Suppliers that reliably sell quality products?

Can you lead me to articles or forum threads that will teach me more about drilling and, more specifically, how to use the drilling process properly?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Geoff

BigJohnT
10-17-2012, 12:11 PM
I can almost guarantee that your rpm is too fast for drilling stainless. Drill at the slowest rpm you can and use plenty of pressure otherwise you work harden the stainless and it will just melt your bit.

John

Rich Carlstedt
10-17-2012, 12:37 PM
Simple rule, The harder the material, the slower you need to run the drill bit , and the harder you push !

Simple rule # 2, The cheaper the drill bit, the lower the quality. Those "gold" plated full sets of drills for 20 bucks are garbage

If you want a drill that will help you with stainless steel, get a Colbalt drill with a 135 degree lip angle, and look for American drills, like Cleveland, Chicago Latrobe, or Precision (PTD) or Japanese like OSG. The Germans make good drills (Bosch)but are harder to find..
Make sure you read the shank of the drill. If it says " USA", you have it. If not, then beware !

Rich

MotorradMike
10-17-2012, 12:38 PM
You can get what you pay for if you're careful.
For good cutting tools I always buy "Made in the USA"