PDA

View Full Version : OT: Windows & & AutoCAD 2000



halac
11-02-2012, 05:25 PM
Has anyone out there tried loading AutoCAD 2000 on a computer using Windows 7 Professional?

I'm hoping that one can. If not, would I have to set up a dual boot system with an older version of windows?

MaxxLagg
11-02-2012, 07:44 PM
I haven't loaded that specific combo but it shouldn't be any problem. Those older versions of Autocad are pretty platform compliant. Another program that you might try, and best of all free, is DraftSight. I haven't played with it a whole lot but it's pretty much an Autocad LT clone.

alanganes
11-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Not sure if it relates directly to Acad 2000, but I was using Acad 2000LT, it was buggy and hung often on win7 64bit.
I was able to run it OK using XP virtual mode, but that was a bit of hassle and eventually moved on to other software. Your mileage may vary...

ulav8r
11-02-2012, 10:11 PM
Acad 2000 would not load on my Vista laptop so I started using Draftsight. No complaints yet.

OwenG
11-02-2012, 10:25 PM
Hi folks,

I'm running Acad 2000 on my win7 64bit with no problems. I don't remember any problems with the install, so there is hope for you!

The Doctor
11-03-2012, 12:09 AM
AutoCAD 2000 on Win7 x64 here as well, no issues. There is a problem where it puts a lot of bank space in the "Programs and Features" menu (where you uninstall programs you no longer use), but that's regardless of which OS you run. It does not affect performance, and I've got a small registry patch that fixes it.

Copy the text below to notepad, save as "all Files" with name autocadfix.reg. Doubleclick file, allow merge, fixed :)

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Uninstall\{5783F2D7-0101-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}]
"DisplayIcon"="C:\\Program Files\\AutoCAD 2002\\acad.exe,1"

halac
11-04-2012, 08:39 PM
Thanks guys for the help.

I'll be trying to do the install sometime this week. Hopefully it will go smoothly without too much hassle.

Harvey Melvin Richards
11-05-2012, 10:15 AM
I have AutoCad 2002 and 2011 on my Windows 7 64 bit machine. I believe that 2002 is basically 2000 with a little paint on it. It runs OK on my machine, although it has been crashing on me lately. I much prefer 2002 over 2011. I mostly use Inventor, so on the occasions I need AutoCad, I go back to the version I'm use to instead of trying to learn 2011.