PDA

View Full Version : End Mill Quality Experiment - Help Wanted

rustydog
12-12-2012, 11:15 PM
I'm a self taught beginner machinist. I started on a Mill Drill and have moved up to a Grizzly 0731 which is a small knee style mill. I have been using Enco end mills from their bargan boxed sets. They have worked from poor to reasonably well over a range of projects. I know I can get a better finish with better quality end mills. I'd like to put together an experiment where I use a range of cutters from the low cost, like I have been using, to a medium price level cutter. I'll run the cutters through a variety of steels from mild to O1 to get a better understanding of how end mill cost / quality affects my finish. I would be pleased to have any suggestions as to the particular brand and style of cutter I should consider. I'm on a budget which is why I mentioned medium price level cutters as the upper end for the time being..

darryl
12-12-2012, 11:40 PM
Yes, I'd like to see the results of such an experiment as well. The one thing that bothers me is how do you know that the endmill you have bought is a good quality one- it may have a brand name on it, but is it the 'real thing'? I'd like to trust a brand name, but I don't know that you can anymore.

What I do is ask questions at metal shops where they use tooling a lot. Chances are they are going to know what's good and what isn't, and also what is a good bang for the buck. If you don't want to pay top dollar for a cutter (and I'm sure the shops don't want to either) then maybe follow their lead and buy the brand they use. That has worked for me.

One tool in particular, taps- my local shop uses Yamawa taps. I've bought from them at reasonable prices, and they are the best taps I've ever used. Not saying they are the best- I wouldn't know from experience- but they do work well and last well.