PDA

View Full Version : Rockwell Mill Question From a n00b

dlsinak
12-15-2012, 12:34 AM
I have a Rockwell Milling Machine (vertical & horizontal) that I don't know very much about, not to mention I am a complete novice at machining. I machined a small piece and had awful results. I seems as though the table is loose on the knee. It actually seemed to be rocking while using it. I think the prior owner never did anything other that accept mediocre results.
I have no operator's or maintenance manual for it. How do I check to make sure the gibs are in proper adjustment? Even the tag on the head that identifies the spindle vs belt placement speed is worn out.
I feel I am competent to make adjustments etc., but it would be good to have a parts or maintenance manual.
Can anyone point me towards one?
Thanks, Dennis

JoeFin
12-15-2012, 04:06 AM
Couldn't be any worse then my first mill and I made plenty of things on that.

But yes as I tried to hold closer and closer tolerances the mill table itself became an issue. Most of which I attributed to the sloppy original manufacture. Might help to tell folks which modle you have and what kind of movement you are experiencing

RussZHC
12-15-2012, 08:02 AM
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/detail.aspx?id=4232

and previous thread http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/threads/18445-Rockwell-21-100-Mill

usual "suspects" have manuals, lathesUK and ozarkwoodworker

JCHannum
12-15-2012, 09:21 AM
Congrats on the Rockwell millling machine. It is a good machine for the home shop. The combo horizontal/vertical is a bonus.

The knee gib is on the left side of the machine, captured by button head allen capscrews at the top and bottom. Make sure the V-ways are clean and lubricated. Preferably with way oil.