PDA

View Full Version : Lawyers

Joe S
03-20-2004, 09:37 PM
Hi Bill,

This is the first time I have visited the Forum, and being a lawyer, I couldnt resist the temptation to see what this post is all about. I share your frustration with our legal system, it is out of control. The people who sue a restaurant because they are overweight ought to have their obese rear ends thrown out of court and be made to pay every penny of the defendant's expenses, same with those who sue gun makers. The judges have the authority to do it but seldom do. However, as much as I dislike a lot of things some lawyers do, I can say that having dealt with hundreds of them over the course of 25 years of practicing law, there are only about a dozen or two that werent likeable people and only about a half dozen that I don't trust, which compares quiet favorably to the general population. As far as the jury verdicts are concerned, judges usually are quite conservative in their awards, and if you think the jury verdicts are too large, just remember, the people on the jury are NOT lawyers, so your complaints should be directed to your non lawyer friends and neighbors, not the lawyers. Two other points about jury verdicts : they are often reduced by the court and we are in a poor position to comment on the verdict if we didnt hear the evidence. At any rate, I agree that we as a society have to go to riduculous lenghts to avoid being sued, and the imbecils who pick up a lawnmower to trim their bushes ought not be allowed to sue the manufacturer. Since the courts haven't done a good job of controlling this frivolous litigation, its up to the legislature. Joe S

Al Messer
03-20-2004, 10:35 PM
Here! Here!

jfsmith
03-20-2004, 11:06 PM
Joe,