PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Gauge On Shop press



spinrow
12-28-2012, 10:35 PM
I recently got interested in getting a shop press. I see some presses come with a pressure gauge and wondered why is a gauge necessary and how is it used? Thanks Paul

Rich Carlstedt
12-28-2012, 10:49 PM
Commercial ones show tonnage of force.
This of course is a predetermined multiple of the hydralic pressure and the area of the piston

Rich

Toolguy
12-28-2012, 11:00 PM
Mine is attached to the top of the cylinder, so reads pressure directly off the hydraulic fluid. I find it useful for bending and straightening. If you know what pressure you were at and need just a little more or want to go back the other way the same amount it will get you closer than a wild guess. With hydraulics there is no feel like on an arbor press so the only way you can tell what it's doing is a gauge.

atomarc
12-28-2012, 11:05 PM
Although not a technical answer, my air over hydraulic pump and hydraulic press cylinder is equipped with a pressure gauge. When pressing, I check the gauge...when it gets too high I close my eyes, pucker my tailpipe and pray to higher powers...that's what I use the gauge for...

Stuart

oldtiffie
12-28-2012, 11:33 PM
http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa294/oldtiffie/Hydraulics/Hydraulics1.jpg

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa294/oldtiffie/Hydraulics/Hydpresspressure2.jpg

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa294/oldtiffie/Hydraulics/Hydraulics2.jpg

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa294/oldtiffie/Hydraulics/Hydraulics4.jpg

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa294/oldtiffie/Hydraulics/Hydpresspressure1.jpg

uute
12-29-2012, 12:36 AM
That's one way to increase the capacity of your arbor press!! :D :D

I also like the carrying capacity (though I'm not sure the casters are up to it) and fact that pressure chart is hidden behind I beam. LOL