PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a 3 in 1 machine and tools.

TeaMan
01-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum and machining in general. I have a ShopMaster 3 in 1 machine and need some help with it. My interests are Archery, firearms, and cars. The machine isn't what I thought it would be, but I have what I have.

Hopefully this post isn't duplicated. I got logged off before I could send the last one, so it was lost.

1. I have been doing a lot of reading. I have a book "Machine Shop Essentials" that has been helpful as well as forums like this. The book shows the turning lathe running counter clockwise in forward. This turns the work into the tool top to bottom so the chips come off the top. My machine runs clockwise in forward. It turns the work against the tool from bottom to top, so the chips come off the bottom. Which direction should the machine run in when cutting?

2. My machine came with three carbide tools, they are 1/2" shank. When I put them in the toolpost, they are about .231" above center. Should I be trying 1/4" tools and mount them so they cut with the cutting face up and the machine running counter clockwise?

3. My machine has belts to change speeds. The charts on the machine show it to be adjustable from 80 to 1200 RPM with the low speed belt tightner, and 145 to 2160 RPM on the high speed adjuster. I tried it at 2160 RPM since my reading said carbides should be run faster and the machine obviously can't handle this speed. The motor kicked the breaker once and just plain stopped a second time. The 1.5HP motors don't have enough torque. With this in mind, would it be smarter to try HSS tools instead?