PDA

View Full Version : Threading with die holder on the mini lathe

tkollen
01-14-2013, 10:13 PM
When I decided to buy a milling attachment for my 7x16 Microlux Mini Lathe I came to realize how short the cross travel was and also how limited the use of a milling attachment was. I decided to extend the cross travel with 1" before the centerline and 1" beyond the centerline, which meant that the cross feed screw had to be extended by 2". Since I am still a novice machinist I decided to fabricate 2 extended cross feed screws, one by threading with a die and one by threading with the lathe. In the end I was going to choose the screw that fitted the nut the best.

Threading a A2 tool steel rod on the lathe was quite a challenge but also a great learning experience especially since the thread was left hand. Due to the length and the springiness of the 3/8" drill rod I was threading I had to use both tailstock and the follow rest in order to get a decent thread and consistent major diameter of the thread. Without the follow rest the diameter would be smaller in the middle of the screw due to the rod's springiness. In the end, and after several attempts, I ended up with a new cross feed screw that did fit the nut smoothly and with no noticeable backlash.