PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Opinions on new Grizzly lathe

Krunch
01-18-2013, 08:41 AM
Hello, all,

I am in the market for my first metal lathe. (I've never used one before.) I had ben considering, for a long time, the Grizzly G4003G, but when I got my 2013 Grizzly catalog, I discovered they offer a new "version" of it with an enclosed gearbox.

I went to the Grizzly website and compared specs on the two machines, and they are largely the same, with a few differences, mainly in threading capabilities, tailstock and lowest speed.

Can anyone compare the specs (below) and tell me whether there are any major drawbacks on the newer model? As I said, I'm completely new to machining – so new that I feel that I don't know enough to buy a used lathe – but I sure don't want to end up kicking myself for buying the wrong machine, either.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

P.S. It looks like the Grizzly website got things confused...the G0750G is the one with the enclosed gearbox, not the G4003G ... I don't know whether the other specs are "flopped" as well or not!

http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/543/grizzlylathecomparison.jpg

loose nut
01-18-2013, 09:59 AM
I went to their website and I can't find any reference to a G0750g model lathe. Could be my bad eyes though.

Looking at the sheets, as I see it the main difference is in the threading/feed selection. To get the enclosed feed box you pay for it with a lose in the threading range and feed range. The cross slide travel and tail stock travel is also less. To me the G4003g looks to be a better machine for that size.

Don't worry about the Norton (open) style gearbox, they have been a standard for about 100 years are fairly quiet, if maintained and work fine. The enclosed type may shift faster but that doesn't offset what you loose.

Krunch
01-18-2013, 10:14 AM
Thank you, Loose Nut.

Here are links to the two lathes in question:

http://www.grizzly.com/products/Gunsmith-s-Bench-Top-Lathe-with-Stand/G4003G