PDA

View Full Version : Ye olde "help the noob with first purchase" thread

DizGrizz
02-16-2013, 12:01 AM
Let me start by saying that I am a complete noob to machining tools like lathes and mills.
Over the last several years I have had multiple occasions where I thought it would be wonderful to have a lathe (and a mill too) for some concepts I had in mind. Note that this would be completely hobby level stuff and no production work...or nothing serious.

Recently decided I'm going to go for it and buy a lathe and have been prowling the forums and groups trying to research the best "first machine" for me and my budget. It seems to me that a recurring theme in all forums that are not dedicated to the Asian machines is to go for "old American/UK/German iron" over the Asian machines whenever possible. I can certainly understand that...I am quite familiar with Chinese tools (HF and the like) and how the quality is, to say the least, hit and miss. With that in mind, I have been watching for locally available "old iron" while doing most of my research on the Asian machines since I figured that's what I would actually be able to get. I will not, at least initially, state what my budget is so that I don't prejudice the answers.

However, I just happened in to a possible buy on a Clausing 5914 that looks to be quite good overall and it seems to fit the "old iron" concept. When I went to look at it though, I quickly realized two things, 1) despite all my research, I really had no clue what I was doing and 2) I really don't have much of a clue what the machine was worth. So now I come here, hat in hand, to humbly request the assistance of the Machinist Sages in my quest for good "old iron". My first look was pretty short since it was late but I am going back tomorrow for a more thorough evaluation.
Here is what I know about the machine:
The good news...
Clausing 5914. Doofus me, didn't get the serial number but will get it tomorrow.