PDA

View Full Version : Bent Keys, Any Hope?

garagemark
02-27-2013, 08:33 AM
I have a very special key at work [ electrical interlock] that was bent almost 90 degrees in an explosion. It's one of those 'do not duplicate' keys and I cannot find a local locksmith that will make me one. It shows signs of tearing on both edges at the bend, so I suspect that I will have to have the lock company make a new key But I also wonder if anyone has a magic solution for straightening severely bent keys. I have never had any luck, but it doesn't really come up often, so I have little experience.

Gazz
02-27-2013, 08:55 AM
You may be able to straighten it after annealing it but with tearing already evident, it may just bust in half in any case. Don't try to bend it hot, heat and then let it cool.

JCHannum
02-27-2013, 08:55 AM
If it is brass and you have nothing to loose, anneal it before making any attempt to straighten. Heat to red heat and allow to cool or quench in water. Clamp in a vise at the bend point and gently twist in proper direction. Final straightening can be done by clamping the entire key shank in the vise and tightening the jaws.

Jaakko Fagerlund
02-27-2013, 10:43 AM
"Do not duplicate" text on a key has no legal meaning and almost all of the locksmiths that I know of (from here, all over Europe and frm the USA) will duplicate the key if it is possible.

Possible, meaning that the key blank is NOT patent protected or trademarked, which would mean that the key blanks are only available to the lock makers certified locksmiths and/or require proof of ownership and/or a keycard.

Edit: And keys are usually brass (cheap ones), steel or nickel silver and maybe plated with nickel or in some cases chrome.

Edit2: What brand of locks you have and what type? Medecos? Abloy? Kwikset? A picture of the keys bow helps.

garagemark
02-27-2013, 11:11 AM
These are Kirk brand locks. They are called 'trapped key' interlocks for electrical equipment.