PDA

View Full Version : Need Dimensions from Craftsman Lathe Tool Post



deltaenterprizes
04-09-2013, 10:48 PM
I bought a friend a quick change tool post for his 12x36 Craftsman lathe and have been unable to get the dimensions for the slot where the plate goes. I want to rough it out because he has a mini mill vs my full size mill and I can do it quicker on my mill.
Can anybody give the rough dimensions of the slot, please?

whateg01
04-10-2013, 08:40 AM
I'm sorry if this sounds snarky. It isn't intended to. I'm sure somebody will post the dimensions, but why can't your friend just measure it?

Dave

deltaenterprizes
04-10-2013, 08:44 AM
It is a surprise present

JCHannum
04-10-2013, 08:56 AM
Be aware that there are two different Craftsman 12" lathes, early and late, and that the T slot dimensions might differ.

danlb
04-10-2013, 10:18 AM
It is a surprise present

I wish my friends gave presents like that. :-)

Dan

Ernie
04-10-2013, 08:34 PM
I have the 12 x 36 Craftsmen commercial lathe that I bought new about 1975. Don't know if it's an early or late model but it's the one with the 1/2 inch thick bed. Anyway, the "T" slot on the compound is .630" deep. The top of the T is .625" wide and the bottom is 1.022" wide. The T at the bottom is .334" thick. Hope this helps and also hope it's the same size as your friend's.
Ernie

schoolie
04-10-2013, 10:26 PM
Ernie's is the late style.

I've got the early style 12x24 Craftsman (3/8" ways), and the T slot is the same as Ernie's within 5 or 10 thou. Leave a little clearance on all dimensions and you should be good to go.

I second what danlb said. Awful nice of you :)

deltaenterprizes
04-10-2013, 10:52 PM
Thanks guys, he is a good friend. We stayed with them for about a month after Hurricane Katrina and he is redoing my guns that were damaged. I want to teach him basic lathe operations and the quick change tool post will help him to have tooling set up and height preset.