PDA

View Full Version : OT- FireFox Being Shunned?



rws
04-11-2013, 07:03 AM
My credit card bank changed their website for on line payment, and it will not work with Firefox. I called and they confirmed that, IE only. Last week, I tried to order some clothes on line, it wouldn't go through so I gave up. Then, just a bit ago, I was looking on Tractor Supply's website, and to get a price, you select a store. A pop-up window comes up, you enter your zip, and nothing happens. So for kicks, I opened IE, and tried again, and it went right through.

I hate IE, FF lets me run ad blockers and I love it. So why are places not functioning with FF?

TRX
04-11-2013, 07:15 AM
I come across IE-only sites every now and then. Like the morons at my wife's employer, who put up a web site for handling basic HR stuff like changing withholding and selecting insurance options. They won't do it any other way now. And it's IE-only. So I have a VirtualBox image I load up to handle that. And each time we do it, I have to download the latest IE and all the Windows updates before anything will work.

The site is a handful of pages with simple pick-a-number options... but most of it won't even show up without IE, Flash, and Java loaded.

RussZHC
04-11-2013, 07:23 AM
I think I have actually begun to notice sites not working with FF are happening, gradually, more and more. I ones that bother me are the government ones that are like that, privately owned websites, fine (IMO if you want to potentially turn your back on a group of people, your call) but government should have the most access possible.

vpt
04-11-2013, 07:44 AM
I think I have only ran into it once. I forget what it was but it didn't bother me much, I just didn't buy from that place and moved on.

taydin
04-11-2013, 07:46 AM
That's because people don't want to employ skilled, experienced web developers anymore. They just outsource the job to a sweat shop in a third world country, where most web developers can't be bothered with learning web standards, good software engineering practices, and writing cross browser compatible software. It is easy to slap together a web site using microsoft's web development tools, and when you're stuck, the bank, the government organization etc you are working for probably has a support contract with MS and somebody will escort you out of any problems your're having.

Dr Stan
04-11-2013, 08:33 AM
When I was drawing unemployment I had to use IE to submit my weekly documentation as the state government website would not work under FF. My employer's website will open under FF, but to access my 401K, do any of the HR submissions, run any videos, etc I must use IE.

Fortunately so far I can still access & use the VA site using FF (knock on wood).

Like the OP I'm not fond of being forced to use IE.

radkins
04-11-2013, 08:54 AM
I was looking on Tractor Supply's website, and to get a price, you select a store. A pop-up window comes up, you enter your zip, and nothing happens.



I just tried that function at Tractor Supply using Firefox and it works just fine as did the regular search function, are you running the latest version of Firefox? You might want to check for an update.

MetalMunger
04-11-2013, 09:02 AM
As a work around try the "Add-On" IE Tab.

Jaakko Fagerlund
04-11-2013, 09:11 AM
In here one bank did that thing once. They realised their error when almost half of their customer complained about it and 20 % of them switched to another bank.

It is just plain stupid to make things work only on one system or with proprietary software.

GadgetBuilder
04-11-2013, 09:24 AM
You might check the sites that don't work with FF to see if they're compliant with the version of HTML they claim to be. FF has an extension that lets you do this easily, see: http://users.skynet.be/mgueury/mozilla/ Contacting banks whose sites are not HTML compliant and asking why their site developers aren't playing by the rules might get some response. Theoretically all sites should be compliant to some version of HTML, although many sites have minor errors - even this HSM site shows some errors (which the browser handles easily).

FF also has the IE View extension which lets you open the site you're viewing in FF using IE, making it a little easier to deal with those IE only sites.

Jim2
04-11-2013, 09:33 AM
FF ain't all that. It is my browser of choice, but recently two different FF upgrades came through at work that were buggy. FF stopped providing functionality that had worked fine before their upgrade. We had to modify some reports so that they would continue to work with FF in the first instance. In the second instance we were forced to revert to an earlier version of FF.

Jim

Steve Seebold
04-11-2013, 09:36 AM
I've been using IE for a long time, and I hate it. I have the Microsoft Automatic Updates turned off on my computer. I turned it off about 5 years ago after I updated IE and got a corrupted file. The update I got was so corrupted that I couldn't even do a system restore. I had to gave the hard drive reformatted.

I spend a lot of time on bulletin boards, and sadly most of them won't work with Firefox.

MrSleepy
04-11-2013, 10:13 AM
I use FF with NoScript,Adblock and Ghostery..

Quite often I get into trouble because of those blocking payment transfers/authentication rather than any particular website requirements.

I spend a lot of time on bulletin boards and have never come across one that wouldn't work with Firefox. :).

Rob

GNM109
04-11-2013, 10:37 AM
I've run most of the usual PC Browsers and l finally settled on FF. It works better than any that I ever used. IE is so slow on websites that it's really worthless anymore, especially with the graphics that sites are using these days. I've used credit cards now and then on various well-known sites and it works OK.

I agree that IE is definitely on the way out.

Paul Alciatore
04-11-2013, 11:36 AM
In here one bank did that thing once. They realised their error when almost half of their customer complained about it and 20 % of them switched to another bank.

It is just plain stupid to make things work only on one system or with proprietary software.

It is not stupid if you are Microsoft.

Big blue bully.

lazlo
04-11-2013, 11:49 AM
I just tried that function at Tractor Supply using Firefox and it works just fine as did the regular search function, are you running the latest version of Firefox? You might want to check for an update.

Ditto. If you have an ad blocker and/or script blockers, and especially if you're running any of the Do Not Track Add-Ons like Ghostery, it will interfere with the web site.

lakeside53
04-11-2013, 11:52 AM
I hate IE, FF lets me run ad blockers and I love it.


IE 8 and above have adblocking built in - you just have to turn it on. You can even load the same TPLs as used for adblock.

I tried Ghostery for a while but it really got in the way of some sites.

lazlo
04-11-2013, 11:53 AM
It is not stupid if you are Microsoft.

Big blue bully.

It's called Capitalism :)

If you have the Lion's Share of the browser market, like Microsoft does, you have a financial incentive to make and encourage web pages that only work well with your browser.
Which is why the Microsoft Update system only works with Internet Explorer.

Cheezy, but understandable from an Enlightened Self Interest perspective ;)

rws
04-11-2013, 01:12 PM
Ditto. If you have an ad blocker and/or script blockers, and especially if you're running any of the Do Not Track Add-Ons like Ghostery, it will interfere with the web site.

I do run Ghostery, I'll try again and turn it off, see what happens.

danlb
04-11-2013, 01:50 PM
The problem can often be solved by disabling your AdBlock and Noscript plug-ins for the specific site that is troubling you. I use FF on Linux almost exclusively, so I.E. is not an option without hauling out a laptop. I run in to more problems because I do not allow Java nor JavaScript except for known sites.

I believe the main problem is that many IT departments have a vested interest in Microsoft products, since it demands a lot of support and updates. There is real job security there. They push Microsoft tools on the developers, so you end up with Microsoft centric web pages.

The Microsoft web page generators offer a lot of neat little goodies that are either Microsoft specific (activex) or that don't follow standards. The pages work when you use IE but not so well with the competition.

< RANT ON > There is little need for Java on any normal web site, and JS (javascript) is seldom needed for the actual functioning of the site. Every site that uses Java and JS should also have a simple page that uses basic HTML. It can be done 99% of the time, just not as slick. < RANT OFF >


Dan

Evan
04-11-2013, 02:12 PM
The best way to address this issue is to complain to the webmaster of the site. It will not change unless they realize they have a problem. Sure, it won't work overnight but zero complaints will make them think it's all just fine, which it isn't. I do exactly that when a site pisses me off for some reason. It doesn't take long and makes me feel a bit better too.

Also, because so few people actually bother to complain the few that do have a very disproportionate voice on how everything in this world operates. I want to be part of that voice. It's like voting.

lazlo
04-11-2013, 03:43 PM
The best way to address this issue is to complain to the webmaster of the site.

It doesn't sound like a webmaster issue.

If you block the Google Analytics IP addresses, like Ghostery does, it breaks a bunch of commercial web pages, even with IE.

Evan
04-11-2013, 03:48 PM
Well, that is still a webmaster issue. Some sites have over 20 and even 30 trackers, web bugs, third party cookies and other crap that I do not routinely allow or want and which they do not need to do business.

Allan Waterfall
04-11-2013, 03:55 PM
I use Firefox and do my banking on line.The accounts are spread between Barclays,Nat West and Nationwide.

Using Firefox is fine for Nat West and Nationwide but the Barclays account can only show the balance but none of the transactions,in that instance I have to use Safari to a look at the transactions.

Allan

lazlo
04-11-2013, 04:03 PM
Well, that is still a webmaster issue. Some sites have over 20 and even 30 trackers, web bugs, third party cookies and other crap that I do not routinely allow or want and which they do not need to do business.

Very true! It's shocking how much sh!t breaks online when you disable tracking.

J. Randall
04-11-2013, 11:07 PM
It's called Capitalism :)

If you have the Lion's Share of the browser market, like Microsoft does, you have a financial incentive to make and encourage web pages that only work well with your browser.
Which is why the Microsoft Update system only works with Internet Explorer.

Cheezy, but understandable from an Enlightened Self Interest perspective ;)

Lazlo, I realize you are way more computer literate than I will ever be, but I run FF almost exclusively and about once a month I have updates waiting to install when I get ready to shut down the computer. I am pretty sure they are from Microsoft and download and install without any problem. Operating system is XP, am I wrong, and not actually getting Microsoft udates ?
James

rohart
04-12-2013, 01:00 AM
I stopped upgrading my FF installation at 3.16, for two reasons. Firstly, I like the industry standard of version numbering, and I didn't like FF changing their version numbering, and secondly I didn't like what I heard about the interface of 4.x.

However, I'm continually having FF try to upgrade me, although I've got every 'don't upgrade' switch set I can find, including in the about:config list.

So now I have K-Meleon (old I know) around, and I wouldn't mind finding another simple browser that does the basics well.

I also wish FF had a 'disable all addons on this site' switch, like Adblock does for their addon. It might solve a lot of problems.

.RC.
04-12-2013, 02:53 AM
Running no-script will block a lot of sites functionality. You have to manually allow them to work... Some sites when you allow them, then when the page reloads, you have other parts of the page that you then need to allow....

It really opens your eyes as to how many third party sites you have to access on some sites..

rws
04-12-2013, 07:15 AM
At least for the Tractor Supply website, turning off Ghostery did the trick. I'll try it next time I need to get into the banking website. I hate seeing all those "trackers" not being blocked.....

lazlo
04-12-2013, 09:55 AM
Lazlo, I realize you are way more computer literate than I will ever be, but I run FF almost exclusively and about once a month I have updates waiting to install when I get ready to shut down the computer.

I'm talking about the Microsoft web page to search for updates. It uses ActiveX, which not coincidentally, only Internet Explorer supports.

http://update.microsoft.com

macona
04-12-2013, 01:10 PM
I'm talking about the Microsoft web page to search for updates. It uses ActiveX, which not coincidentally, only Internet Explorer supports.

http://update.microsoft.com

This has been a huge problem in South Korea. Virtually all the institutions use Active X on their sites so if you want to use something else you are SOL. Even worse if you use a Mac since there has not been a new version of IE for many, many years.

J. Randall
04-12-2013, 03:13 PM
I'm talking about the Microsoft web page to search for updates. It uses ActiveX, which not coincidentally, only Internet Explorer supports.

http://update.microsoft.com

Okay, I understand now, is the content different there then it is on the Microsoft download site that they offer as an alternative if you prefer to use a different browser?
James