PDA

View Full Version : Turcite - Rulon - Garlock - Moglice

Shuswap Pat
04-18-2013, 09:36 AM
I have my older 17" Economaster ripped apart for a major rebuild. the carriage is off, and needs some TLC, so I was going to re-machine the way surfaces, and add some slide material. The question is what, and what is relatively easy to get out here in BC? Any suggestions, recommendations, sources.

Thanks

Patrick

Forestgnome
04-18-2013, 09:48 AM
Micarta is easy to get.

Richard King
04-18-2013, 09:55 AM
Contact these guys, they may have a Canadian Distributor.
http://www.tstar.com/default.asp?source=GoogleAdWords&gclid=CLLEqe6u1LYCFYtDMgodyS0AQA

dian
04-19-2013, 06:03 AM
i think you should decide, if you want to pour or scrape.

Richard King
04-19-2013, 08:11 AM
I have installed all of them, so if you need any help please ask via a PM as I sometimes forget to look at the posts I comment in. After the PM I will post the answer here. Rich

Richard King
04-20-2013, 12:53 PM
I PM'ed Pat and here is what I wrote. I figured I should share it with the group:

I just ordered some from Tri Star, here is a copy of their prices:

CE 211-R 2 part Epoxy with .003" glass beads
Quart - $75.14 per kit with spatula

RULON 142 etched tape

.032/.031" x 12" wide by 84" (7ft) long
$17.15 per square ft
$120.05 per pc
Stock IL

.047" x 12" wide at 84" (7 ft) long
$25.72 per square ft
$180.04

The key to installing it is CLEAN and Roughness.

I will rough scrape the part to get it flat and square before I glue on the Turcite so when you do the final scrape you only remove a few thousands. I also cut the material 1 " longer then what the part is, because when you set the part down on the machine it will slide. To avoid this be sure the machine is level.