PDA

View Full Version : Concrete Floor Thickness for Shop

firbikrhd1
04-29-2013, 07:07 PM
Perhaps some experienced folks here can give me some thoughts on the thickness of a shop floor. Currently I am building a new home with a shop in the basement. The plan is to have my 10" Logan lathe, a 12" Vernon Shaper, an Index Model 40 mill to start. The future may hold a 13X40 lathe and a horizontal mill as well. The concrete floor is planned to be 4" thick but for only the cost of materials I can make it 6" if that is necessary. I also have the choice between fiber reinforced concrete or the use of re-bar or road mesh for reinforcement. The contractor is advising the fiber reinforced concrete but I have no experience with it. Steel is great as long as it is properly placed in the slab and doesn't end up in the dirt or near the top of the finished floor. There is also the choice of 5000 psi material.
All this cost money of course and there's no point in spending it unnecessarily. If a 4", 3000 psi slab with fiber reinforcement is adequate, great, if it's inadequate I'll step up to what is. I have no doubt that 4" will work with the little Logan an the Index mill. The shaper will probably be OK too because it doesn't depend upon the floor to prevent flex. The larger lathe is my real concern as I realize when it comes to machining everything is "rubber" to a certain extent. Any recommendations as to what is adequate for something like this are welcome.
Thanks in advance.

pgmrdan
04-29-2013, 07:22 PM
I had a floor put in my outbuilding about 3.5 years ago. Today I called the guys to find out how much it will support because I'm getting a Bobcat skid steer delivered tomorrow. The specs say the concrete should hold over 10,000 pounds by itself. It can hold more because it's reinforced with 1/2" rebar on 36" centers. The concrete is 4" thick.

HTH,
Dan

flylo
04-29-2013, 07:23 PM