X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Boostinjdm
    • Mar 2011

Worm wheel help

I'm trying to cut a replacement worm wheel for my saw and am getting confusing results. I'm going to say right up front that I don't know what I'm doing and this is my first attempt at making a gear.
    I measured up the worm and made a hob to match. It is 1.182" OD and 4tpi. I don't know what that works out to for pitch.
    I cut one blank at 2.050" and ended up with 26 teeth that were ugly cuz I gashed it the wrong direction. So....round 2, I cut a blank at 2.000" and ended up with 27 teeth without gashing. The goal is 23 teeth.

What gives?
  • Fasttrack
    • Jul 2005

What is the thread profile?

As a close estimate: 23 teeth / 4 threads/inch = 5.75 inches. 5.75"/3.141 = ~1.83" so the diameter should be approximately 1.83"

Comment

• Boostinjdm
      • Mar 2011

So the pitch diameter should be about 1.83"? Or the OD of the blank?

The old gear is at least 2" and worn pretty bad so I don't know where it started. That's what I was going off of when making the blank.

Comment

• winchman
        • Aug 2003

It sounds like the blank is being driven by the hob as it starts cutting the teeth. Since the OD is too large, it's cutting too many teeth. You need to drive the blank at the proper ratio to the rotation of the hob, or remove a little material from the blank (i.e. make roughing cuts between the tooth locations) so the hob won't have a chance to start cutting too many teeth.

Keep in mind I've never tried to cut a gear, so this is all speculation on my part.
        Any products mentioned in my posts have been endorsed by their manufacturer.

Comment

• Fasttrack
          • Jul 2005

Originally posted by Boostinjdm View Post
          So the pitch diameter should be about 1.83"? Or the OD of the blank?

The old gear is at least 2" and worn pretty bad so I don't know where it started. That's what I was going off of when making the blank.