PDA

View Full Version : OT Americas cup boat race

Yow Ling
09-19-2013, 10:02 PM
You guys following this, the might of Silicon Valley and Oracle getting served on a plate by a team from the South Pacific ?

Quite high tech 45kts in a boat is pretty good, maybe America needs to buy their boats down here !!

lakeside53
09-19-2013, 10:03 PM
They did - the prototype was built in NZ, and the skipper is an Aussi.

Guido
09-19-2013, 10:33 PM
Yup-------------

--G

aostling
09-19-2013, 10:40 PM
You guys following this, the might of Silicon Valley and Oracle getting served on a plate by a team from the South Pacific ?

Good on 'ya, I say. I've been rooting for New Zealand since 1971.

Now you will get to set the rules for the next America Cup, and the venue. I favor displacement hulls, sailing on Cook Strait. That would separate the men from the boys.

The Artful Bodger
09-20-2013, 01:04 AM

Quite high tech 45kts in a boat is pretty good, maybe America needs to buy their boats down here !!

Did I miss something? I thought NZ still has to have another win?

The Artful Bodger
09-20-2013, 01:05 AM
Good on 'ya, I say. I've been rooting for New Zealand since 1971.

Now you will get to set the rules for the next America Cup, and the venue. I favor displacement hulls, sailing on Cook Strait. That would separate the men from the boys.

Nah, winged cats on Cook Strait with not limit on wind speed, then we would surely see some blistering times!

Yow Ling
09-20-2013, 02:44 AM
Did I miss something? I thought NZ still has to have another win?

Isn't that scheduled for tomorrow?

The Artful Bodger
09-20-2013, 05:37 AM
I will be wearing my red socks.

Mike Burch
09-20-2013, 05:46 AM
With the replacement of their tactician by an Englishman, I believe that Oracle now have no Americans on their boat. Like the team boss Russell Coutts, most of their crew are in fact New Zealanders. No wonder the event is getting almost no attention in the USA.