PDA

View Full Version : Geomagic Design 14 problem



motorworks
10-02-2013, 10:22 AM
Hi
I am trying to set up Geomagic Design 14 on my lap top.
The sales guy says it will work in windows xp BUT I get this when I try to set it up

"Geomagic Design 2014 cannot be installed on the following versions of windows: windows NT 4.0,windows 2000, windows xp x86,windows xp86 service pack 1,windows xp x86 servicw pack 2 "

I DO NOT plan on upgrading windows right now as all my other programs run perfect

Is there a quick fix or do I stick with the 2011 program ?

eddie

TriHonu
10-02-2013, 10:36 AM
Many software packages require Windows XP to have Service Pack 3 installed.

Check the properties of "My Computer" in XP to view what version/service pack has been installed.

Service packs can be be downloaded from Microsoft's website. A service pack is a collection of updates and fixes for the operating system.

You could also contact the vendor to verify what the base requirements for the software to run on XP.

Willy65
10-02-2013, 10:38 AM
Install service pack 3 for windows xp

dp
10-02-2013, 10:41 AM
Their web site has so many trackers and activity analyzers that are blocked by my firewall that the pages don't load. Sure beats the alternative.

DR
10-02-2013, 11:30 AM
Their web site has so many trackers and activity analyzers that are blocked by my firewall that the pages don't load. Sure beats the alternative.

By "their" do you Microsoft or Geomagic?


Geomagic 14? In the past Alibre always notified me of the latest version and of course wanted a hundred bucks or so to upgrade my Personal Edition. Thus far I don't seem to be getting any news from Geomagic. Anybody else got 14?

dp
10-02-2013, 11:59 AM
By "their" do you Microsoft or Geomagic?

Geomagic.

EVguru
10-02-2013, 12:24 PM
Many software packages require Windows XP to have Service Pack 3 installed.

Windows XP sp2 won't even get updates. You have to install the new updater and that requires sp3, a fact that Microsoft don't make clear.

motorworks
10-02-2013, 01:46 PM
Working ! pac 3 did it ....
Thanks guys you are quicker,smarter and better looking then the tecks at Geo ;0

MikeHenry
10-05-2013, 02:15 PM
You'll get knowledgeable assistance on Alibre/GeoMagic Design questions here:

http://forum.alibre.com/

It's mostly user-based support, but the company does monitor threads and replies from time to time.

Mike