PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Password Reset message

aostling
10-06-2013, 08:16 PM
I got an email, apparently from Adobe, stating that their network has been breached by a hacker who "may have obtained access to your Adobe ID and encrypted password." My password has been reset, they say, so they supply a link to change it to a new password.

I'm not aware of ever having a password with Adobe. Should I just ignore this?

WhatTheFlux!
10-06-2013, 08:17 PM
Yes.

This is just the latest variation on the classic phishing scam.

Video Man
10-06-2013, 08:26 PM
The Adobe breach is for real (explanation: I'm a Photoshop and Premiere professional) but that doesn't mean that hackers couldn't take advantage of the situation and send out false messages looking like the real Adobe notification. If you have an Adobe account you can go directly to your account and it will tell you to change your password when you try to log in. I generally never go anywhere from a link sent as email, just to be safe.

dp
10-06-2013, 08:36 PM
Definitely not a scam. Several of the sites I host have been advised, and I've also received the same. Adobe's home page has the explanation.

aostling
10-06-2013, 09:39 PM
Definitely not a scam.

Thanks to you both.

I have Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Reader, but no passwords on those applications. I guess I can still ignore the message, and take no action.

ulav8r
10-06-2013, 09:39 PM
Guess I'm completely safe. Don't have an Adobe account, so no password.

danlb
10-06-2013, 09:42 PM
While there may be a need to reset your password, always assume that the email is a scam. If you are really good with email you can look at the raw email headers to verify where it came from.

DO NOT CLICK LINKS IN ANY UNSOLICITED EMAIL.

Go directly to the home page of the site if you have an account there and use that to change the password.

Dan

aostling
10-06-2013, 09:50 PM

Dan

The email ostensibly from Adobe did have a link. I'm glad I did not click it.