PDA

View Full Version : 3-phase motor to single-phase?

Johnnyreich
10-14-2013, 05:58 PM
There's a Bridgeport mill available in my area with a 1-horse 3-phase motor. I have no capabilities for 3-phase at my location. I do have single-phase 110 and 220.

Why not just repower the unit with a single-phase 220-volt motor? Does this make sense or is the installation of a phase converter the only route to take? I have no experience of any kind in this area, so your advice is highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Johnny

winchman
10-14-2013, 06:09 PM
If you have 220-volt available, the best route to go for a single 3-phase machine is a VFD. I got mine from Automation Direct.

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Drives/GS1_%28120_-z-_230_VAC_V-z-Hz_Control%29

thebigron
10-14-2013, 06:24 PM
A real good reason is that once you take a close look at the motor in question, you will discover that it is an oddball and a single phase one to fit the mounting will cost you the price of half a dozen VFD's. Do what winchman suggest for less than a couple hundred bucks. You will be proud and welcome to the forum.

kitno455
10-14-2013, 07:21 PM
VFD, without a question. Even good ones like Hitachi are so cheap now, that I've been ripping single phase motors out of my stuff, and putting 3 phase motors in!

allan

KiddZimaHater
10-14-2013, 07:24 PM
Keep the 3-phase motor. Buy yourself a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) rated for 1-horsepower.
The VFD will convert 220 single phase power into 220 3-phase power.
It also serves as your on/off, speed, and fwd/rev functions.
You'll love it

The Artful Bodger
10-14-2013, 07:28 PM
My knee mill is single phase and the motor is heavy, it is also very difficult to change the belt position. Needless to say there is always a strong temptation to run the spindle at whatever speed is already set rather than to match the job.

How much useful speed variation could I get with a 3 phase motor and a VFD? -50% to +100%?

Johnnyreich