PDA

View Full Version : Best practice for milling a shape out of stock?

Rtldan
10-18-2013, 02:42 PM
Hello all!
I am new to cnc milling (and this forum!) and I'm using a Taig with gecko 540 drivers.

I have a shape that I would like basically "cut" out of a piece of stock.
My question is, are there any best practices I should be aware of when removing a shape from the center of a piece of stock?

For example, if I wanted to cut a disk out of my flat bar stock, and I'm cutting it in the middle, what prevents the disc from flying out wildly after the cut completes?
And if I am cutting all the way through my bar stock it's most likely up on parallels right?
So do we just let the shape fall from the center of the stock down into the gap created by the parallels?

Sorry for such inexperienced questions. I did try a google search, but finding the right search terms proved difficult.
Thanks for your time!
-Daniel
Portland, Oregon

Rosco-P
10-18-2013, 03:09 PM
How thick is the stock? How complicated is the shape? How accurate must the shape be? Sometimes simple approaches are best. Could it be sawed out and finished by other means? Files, belt sander, bench grinder, die grinder, die filer, etc. Maybe not in your arsenal of tools, but waterjet, plasma cutter, gas axe.

Oops, too fast hitting reply. A disc...., what about a hole saw, rotobroach, fly cutter?

goodscrap
10-18-2013, 03:22 PM
or like my sheet metal bashing mate does, leave at least 3 tiny tabs (about 0.020") to hold the item, then break it out and lightly finish by hand. so if cutting a circle cut most of the depth, but leave the tabs only about 0.030" thick. the number of tabs required depends on the size of what you're cutting out

if you go for a full cut then it might damage the machine/tooling if it wedges through climb milling for example, as said above, other processses might be more suitable

Jaakko Fagerlund
10-18-2013, 03:31 PM