PDA

View Full Version : Test Indicators and Holders

JeffG
04-16-2004, 10:46 PM
Enco, Peacock, Fowler, B&S, Starrett, ... and so on. Bare indicator, indicator with point set, holders, 1", 1-1/2", 15-0-15, 30-0-30. And so on.

I'm a hobbyist, just getting started. Have a small knee mill and a 6" Atlas lathe. What sort of indicator/set should I buy?

Thanks.

------------------

Tim Clarke
04-16-2004, 11:30 PM
At risk of getting a little heat from the purists, I'll tell you what I did. Get your basic, cheap import 1" travel indicator. You can get them from the mail order outfits, online and on ebay. Under 10 bucks. Maybe a magnetic base also. Make yourself up a holder to fit on your toolpost so you can dial in parts in your lathe chuck. Likewise, a couple holders will allow you to measure travel of your mill table, and other uses will become evident as you gain experience. You'll likely crash the cheapie indicator, and maybe destroy it, but they're pretty durable. AFTER you learn the care and use of indicators, get yourself a nice unit. The other guys will be able to tell you the advantages of the different brands. Myself, I used the cheapies from Harbor Freight, and still do. I did get a really Nice Starrett #711 indicator and kit for the fine work a couple years ago. It would have died if subjected to the dumb things I did to the cheapies.

Regards, Tim

J Tiers
04-17-2004, 01:21 AM
I would suggest a couple types, depending on what your usage is.

For dialing in on an OD, either plunger or 'lever" type will work.

For dialing in an ID, setting tapers to match inside tapers, or other work with IDs, the "lever" type is really the only type readily usable.

So for all-purpose use I would get a "lever" type, the one with the pivoting arm at the end.

Just remember that it won't give an absolute measurement very well, due to the "swing" of teh lever.

You can get a plunger type for $10 if you buy chinese, and a "lever" type for around $20 similarly chinese.