PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have A.R. Warner HSS-insert tools?

TN Pat
11-02-2013, 01:54 PM
How do, fellas. Got another question for the nice folks here at HSM...

In doing my endless machining research, I stumbled upon this company - http://www.arwarnerco.com/

They manufacture, in addition to HSS blanks and indexable lathe toolholders, high speed steel indexable inserts for said holders. To me, this seems like an interesting idea, and I'd like to know more about these, if anyone here has experience with 'em.

I do know grinding your own tools from HSS blanks is a bit more versatile, possibly more economical. It's also not too hard to learn - I've become somewhat decent at it so far (10 months into a machining course at a local trade school - still really a complete novice!)

Regardless, I'm just looking for some info and opinions on these tools. Much appreciated.

Weston Bye
11-02-2013, 03:45 PM
Yep, use them nearly exclusively, for general turning and facing in aluminum, brass, steel and plastic. I use one of the holders in the kit for sharpening.

I also use their grooving/threading tool and their cutoff tool and their boring tool.

Kinda sounds like I'm sold on their products. They also have added some carbide inserts too.

Note that this is mostly on a Sherline lathe.

Beazld
11-02-2013, 05:06 PM
[I]Disclaimer[I]I am not a "real" machinist nor did I sleep in a Holiday Inn Express last night.Now that that is out of the way, in some people's opinion, I don't own "real " machine tools (I have a Sherline lathe and mill) but I own the Warner holders and HS inserts and I really love them. A. They are made in the USA, 2, they have great consistency and quality control, and iii, they have great service. I have used them on Al, Brass, SS, steel, CI, and plastics and they work well with the tools I have and the skill sets I pocess. Not to say I dont use carbide or grind my own on occasion, but 95% of the time i am using my Warner tools.

rolland
11-02-2013, 06:44 PM