PDA

View Full Version : Got my first lathe - Craftsman 6 x 18

TN Pat
12-23-2013, 05:58 PM
Hey, guys. Well, I think I now officially qualify as a home shop machinist - I've recently acquired my first machine tool for home! As the title says, it is a Craftsman 6 x 18 lathe, model # 101.07301.

A touch of backstory as to how I got it - I'm a student in the machining course in a local trade school. I guess I've made a good impression on my instructor in my year of being there. I guess he's saved enough money to upgrade his HS lathe, and instead of selling his old one, he decided to give it to me... he's had it for about 25 years, and he got it from someone who had it yet longer. I was told it's a 1950's or 1960's vintage.

It is a nice lathe, gotta admit. Not the multi-horsepower, 14 x 40 I'm used to at school, but after I did a bit of fiddling, the darn thing will cut pretty well!

Anyway, the purpose of this thread is just sort of to ask you all here on HSM for any advice I might get on using and maintaining this lathe... owning machinery of any kind is a new field for me.

Er, on top of that... I am unable to find a free manual for this model of lathe, that I can download from the internet. It was supposed to be easy, but I can't seem to find one. If I could be pointed in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.

On top of that, the lathe is in need of a new chuck... I'm not sure what to look for. Without a manual, I'm unsure of how to remove or replace the chuck, and I'm sort of unaware of the process as a whole. From what I've read on here and other forums, it's a threaded spindle...