PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from SW Georgia

Bulldog Z
12-26-2013, 07:52 PM
I am new to this forum. I am interested in learning machining with a manual lathe and a milling machine. I have some knowledge of machining, but I would like to learn more. I am looking for a lathe or a milling machine. My space is somewhat limited in my garage. I have been looking at CL and government auctions as well. Is there a for sale section on this forum? Are there better places to look for used machinery besides CL and auctions? Thanks for the information.

Brad

RussZHC
12-26-2013, 08:30 PM
Welcome.

I suspect space is at a premium for most of us...to me one of the other "first things" is to have in mind the scale of work so as to help determine what sizes of equipment you should be looking at...to me it seems a lot of home shop sized lathes, mills etc. are at a premium, perhaps for that reason. Really small stuff, watch makers lathes say, to me always seem a bit cheaper proportional to size as do true industrial size machines (3 phase can sometimes be a bit of a determining factor...in a very, very general sense). Its that 10" to say 14" lathe you can fit in the space (garage or smallish footprint shop) that, to me, gets reflected in the price. An opinion, YMMV.

No sales on this forum. FYI there are numerous threads about the whys and wherefores etc.

Where to look, other than what you have listed, is sort of a locale thing. IF I recall correctly from other posts in your general area, you are not in a wasteland but you are also not in an area where you are stumbling over like new Bridgeports or South Bend Heavy 10s for dirt cheap either.

Everyone's tastes are a little different but on Youtube I like the work done by Keith Fenner, "Abom79", "Tubalcain/Mr Pete", Keith Rucker, "Myfordboy", "Factorydragon" all of whom have sort of a series of videos and I believe all have channels by now too. That is from a pretty green newbie's perspective.