PDA

View Full Version : Home shop CNC plasma....

Davek0974
01-11-2014, 11:20 AM
Hi all,

Thinking of a project for the shop. I have a small plasma cutter, up to 12mm cut.

What would I be looking at to build an x-y table and CNC control system for it?

I have looked at plasmacam but while it is pretty superb, I don't have 10k for the project, I'm looking at home build, low cost, speed is not a requirement.

Manual height control should be ok and I'm guessing it's a. Pretty basic system as micron precision is not really required.

Looking to cut shapes and designs in steel sheet etc.

Bear in mind I have never used anything CNC before but and pretty good with electronics and welding etc. I have built an attachment for a machine at work that used a 4 axis card for a PC, but that was used only for linear feed and I wrote the program in VB.

This would need software etc that I have no idea of.

I have a massive amount of Flexlink structural aluminium which would be good for the chassis and table support frame and maybe a few stepper motors soon but not sure if it needs feedback or not?

Any ideas or links?

lakeside53
01-11-2014, 12:19 PM
Ignoring the cnc part for the moment (there are MANY reasonably simple and cost effective options...), one thing to watch out for with the plasma cutter is duty cycle. While you may be able to cut continuously in 16 gauge, at 1/2 inch it's probably quite limited. Recently I've been running into this with my small welder.

You won't need "feedback". The stepper counts are maintained by the system so it "knows" where it is. As there are no tool pressures, with the correct sized sized motors skipping counts due to overload isn't a problem.

duckman
01-11-2014, 12:35 PM