PDA

View Full Version : Question about clamping threaded rod vertically on a mill.

SirLesPatterson
01-13-2014, 09:29 AM
Hi, new guy here. Looks like a great forum.

I'm a beginner and would like suggestions on ways to vertically clamp threaded rod (large, about 1" diameter) to my mini mill. I'm suspecting a v-block might be the answer, of which I do not have yet. The piece is a few inches long.

Additionally I would welcome advice on how to take measurements against the threaded rod to confirm squareness to the spindle or table. This has proven a challenge since there are no smooth sides or ends. Best I could think of so far it to put a large washer between two jamb nuts on the rod and use a dial indicator in a collet to measure against the washer's flat(ish) surface. I am relatively sure however that there is no guarantee the jamb nuts will seat squarely so it is probably a flawed tactic right out of the gate.

Of course I know that a lathe is more suited for such a task but I'm working with the tool I have.

Thank you.

Toolguy
01-13-2014, 10:00 AM
Welcome to the forum!

The V block is the way to go on that deal. The rod will be as square as the V block. To check square, you can use a square from the table to the top of the threads on the rod. You will be able to see a gap at the top or bottom if it's out of square. This is not the most precision way to check it but probably the most practical and likely close enough.

jlevie
01-13-2014, 10:04 AM
A vee-block and it's clamps. You want a pretty large vee-block for this. I'd put Al or Cu pads under the clamp screws.
To check the squareness if the piece is simply clamped in the vice, clamp a narrow parallel to the side of the rod and run an indicator up & down. Presumably the vice is square along the Y axis.

firbikrhd1
01-13-2014, 10:07 AM