PDA

View Full Version : Dimensioning Uneven Stock?

Rtldan
04-01-2014, 06:18 PM
Hi guys!
Complete newbie here to home machining. I've cut a few test parts but nothing much.

Anyhow, I just tried to mill a test part yesterday, but encountered a question I can't find an answer to through google (at least with the terminology I'm using!).

The stock I have purchased from my local Metal Supermarkets is not cut completely straight in it's length. It varies by maybe a 1/32" (or more?).
Of course, it meets the minimum length that I requested, but some areas are longer.

So my question is really this: When I'm modeling my stock, do I take the longest length and use that for my stock dimensions, or do I use the actual requested length/the shortest length of my stock?

To make it even more complicated...
If I'm setting a top left origin point, my x coordinates would be different if taken at the longer end vs the shorter end...which would affect my origin point and ultimately, the entire part.

So, how are others dealing with imperfect stock in their home shops?

Thanks!

hareng
04-01-2014, 06:27 PM
Rule number 1 you have to have at least one working edge, the opposite dimension comes from that, easy.

Arthur.Marks
04-01-2014, 06:46 PM
Rtidan, it is called "squaring" -- i.e. "squaring up stock" in common parlance. http://www.machinistblog.com/how-to-square-up-stock-on-a-mill/

Toolguy
04-01-2014, 06:49 PM
Square it to size first. If you do this accurately enough, you can measure off any side or end. If not right on the money, designate two adjacent sides and one end as datum planes. All measurements then originate from those surfaces. Mark the surfaces with a magic marker or some other marking so you can keep track of which ones they are as you work through the part.

CCWKen
04-01-2014, 07:07 PM