PDA

View Full Version : Virtual "machines" (Iron)

SirLesPatterson
04-16-2014, 02:01 PM
Saw a thread and it got me thinking about the machines necessary for my workshop. I started with a mini mill, got a lathe, then a full size mill. My workshop is closing in on itself rapidly but that doesn't keep me from checking craigslist for deals on machines I don't yet have. So lets talk bare necessity machines, nice to have machines, and luxury machines. I'm sure it is a matter of opinion too but I am just a home hobbyist. I don't NEED to make anything but I enjoy it.

So a "virtual machine" in this sense would be a milling adapter on the lathe. When I got my lathe it's rigidity dwarfed my mini mill so I set out to modify it for milling heavier items. Cut t-slots in the cross slide and refurbed an old atlas milling adapter for my "Z" axis.

Now one could also "lathe" on a mill I suppose but it seems like to more universal "virtual machine" would be using the lathe as a mill.

So here I am, decent lathe for me needs (10x24) and a full size milling machine. I'm losing floor space fast, could hardly decide where to plant the 3000lb mill. So why am I searching craigslist hoping to find a deal on a surface grinder? I suppose I could do much of the same with with a fly cutter on the mill? Not sure really, maybe just looking for more toys.

So if you had to outfit the essential home hobby machine shop for tinkering, what would you REQUIRE? And what machines could you "virtualize" using the machines you have selected.

Might be an interesting conversation.

Seastar
04-16-2014, 03:53 PM
Well I have two drill presses, three lathes, a mill, a band saw, mig, tig stick and oxy welders, a plasma cutter, a blast cabinet, 20 ton mechanical press, a shaper, and a small sheet metal brake, various grinders, a propane forge, 150 # anvil, a full set of blacksmith tools and then there are the wood working tools.