PDA

View Full Version : Toolpost grinder

brian Rupnow
04-18-2014, 09:51 AM
I am considering buying a toolpost grinder from Little Machine shop. The site doesn't give a lot of information about them, and I have never used one before. It says that to use them you must remove the compound rest from your lathe. If you do that, how could you grind anything on a taper? It says that they will fit a C6 or a SC6 lathe, which means very little to me because I have a BusyBee B2227L lathe and I don't know anything about the numbers they refer to on the website. Does anyone out there own a grinder like this? How useful is it. How do you grind a taper with it. they offer a number of different grades of grinding wheels for it. What grades of grinding wheel would you recommend. Can it grind 1018-1020 mild steel, or only hardened steel. Are there any good book available about the care and feeding of tool[post grinders? Any help would be greatly appreciated.---Brian

http://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=4671&category=

Glug
04-18-2014, 10:04 AM
Hmpf! Well... I opened this thread expecting an epic Brian Rupnow tool post grinder build! I was just hoping it would not be a miniature.

Euph0ny
04-18-2014, 10:23 AM
I know nothing about the lms offering, but if you have a copy of 'the amateur's lathe' by Sparey, there is a section on toolpost grinders, and plans for a grinder spindle.

studentjim
04-18-2014, 10:48 AM