PDA

View Full Version : Home Made Hydraulic Swager

Higgo
07-14-2014, 10:29 PM
Hi all, I've got a lot of hydraulic hoses to crimp and also want to have a go at making a swaging press/ hose crimper/ hose press or what ever other names it known as. I'm prepared to buy the dies as I think I'll only need a couple of different sizes. I don't really want to buy the hose press for private use so thought I'd try and make one! Has anyone else built one? I was thinking cheap air/hydraulic jack with a frame built around it. I'm a fitter and turner by trade so I should be fine with the build but I wanted to see if anyone had built a really good one. They all seem to sell for over $1200AUS used and I think I'd be able to build one for around $350. I don't really want to use field attachable fittings because the cost of some of the larger ones would outweigh the benefit of using them. I'm also a long way from a hose shop so It's really not that practical for me. I have access to large hydraulic press too so the frame could possibly be built to use that and not a jack. I've seen a couple of similar ones but never any good detail on them. I also want to use brand name crimps... the usual names but not really fussed as to what brand. I would like to able to crimp up to 2" or even slightly larger.

Also I know everyone has different opinions on hose making etc. so I would like to avoid the usual debate on field fit/crimp fit/just getting the hydraulic shop to do it for me and just see if anyone has successfully made a high quality press on a budget. I did my apprenticeship in a hydraulic shop so I've been around it a bit... I've been looking for a used one for so long now I don't think I'll find a cheap used one here in AUS. So I may as well build one! Looking forward to seeing what ideas/builds other people have come up with!

boslab
07-15-2014, 12:58 AM