PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie to rewinding 1 question?

wolfcreek
09-04-2014, 06:08 PM
No it's not should I do it lol. Generator is junk anyway so I figured I'd play with it. This generator burnt up one sector of the winding ( rest of the winding every where else is not scorched at all, not even the resin coating. I know the one sector burnt up because the insulator broke down and grounded the winding. My question is do I have to strip the entire winding ( all sectors ) and start from scratch or is it ok to solder a connection to the end of the good winding and just rewind that sector? This is a sector where the end of the rewind will be at a terminal connection. Ok so one more question, if it is possible to do that how would you make the connection? my thought is a tight solder joint then coat with resin to re-insulate but not sure on solder to use or if it should be a crimp insulated after.

J Tiers
09-04-2014, 10:49 PM
Dunno how to answer without seeing it, but.....

Depends on how it is wound, and even on what you are talking about to begin with..... Rotor, or stator? Sounds like stator.... in which case no big deal, make the most reliable connection possible. Could be crimp, but if it will be made with solid wire, as I expect, I'd solder it.

When you say "sector", that can be an open definition... First question is whether you can rewind that part without affecting any other good windings. If it's in a slot under some undamaged winding, then it can get to be a real pain.

rythmnbls
09-05-2014, 06:53 AM
Standard practice is to strip the entire winding, clean the core, re-insulate , rewind and re-varnish. Connections on smaller windings are usually welded with a small oxy-acetylene torch.

Regards.

Steve.

wolfcreek
09-05-2014, 01:21 PM
Dunno how to answer without seeing it, but.....