PDA

View Full Version : Small bead/grit blasting setup

Sun God
10-01-2014, 11:12 AM
Sorry for what is probably an obnoxious asinine question, but as I live in a terribly corrosive environment (60 feet from seawater) I'm very very seriously looking at incorporating an electroless nickel plating process into my shop, to plate small parts and tools for corrosion resistance. But also as a finishing process for small gun and model engine parts. It's a relatively inexpensive process, but to be worthwhile needs good surface prep of parts before plating.

So I'd like to add a bead and grit blaster to dovetail in to all of this - and besides, it would be nice to have for things like removing mill scale, paint, and corrosion just generally. I've got no experience with grit blasting, don't have a cabinet, blast media, a gun, or a compressor. In general I'd also just like to add compressed air to the shop for things like tyre inflation, dusting, small air die grinder, etc.

The largest part I'm going to want to blast likely has a surface area no larger than an iPhone or similar. It's really, small potatoes stuff that I'll be relatively willing to take my time on.

I'm sick of reading the same old advice that says go out and buy a 16CFM (and $800-1200) compressor. Yes, that would be better, but I simply can't justify that level of spending on something that isn't going to be a 'use every day' type tool. So what I'd like to know is, who has practical experience doing abrasive blasting on a budget? What is your setup? How can I make the most out of a smallish compressor (I'm probably going to be able to afford something in the 12 Gallon/50 Litre size range, 5-7CFM free air delivery)? Will there be a difference in air consumption between suction and pot type guns?

flylo
10-01-2014, 11:27 AM