PDA

View Full Version : Another Electric Wiring Question: Chaining Outlets

Paul Alciatore
10-23-2014, 03:02 PM
I am posting this in a new thread to avoid hijacking the other one. In that other thread about grounding and ground fault protection, J Tiers said,

For the US, it was common in the past (not accepted now) to wire from outlet to outlet by connecting incoming wires to one line/neutral pair of the screws on an outlet, and wiring off the second pair to go to more outlets on the circuit. If the incoming wires ...

I am not an electrician and was not aware that running from one outlet to the next was not an acceptable practice. I have never been a fan of using those "poke the wire in" holes for any wiring, but I fail to see any problem with using the screw terminals to chain the circuit to the next outlet. And virtually every 115V, 15/20 Amp. outlet in every electric supply house and hardware store and home supply store in the country has the double screws with a break off link between them. I would think that if they were no longer used, the manufacturers would save a few pennies by eliminating the second screws. I mean two screws per outlet and less metal under them; that's gotta be at least $0.01 or $0.02 per outlet. Millions and millions of dollars in a year.

Is this the case or am I misunderstanding? Is this just a problem with a GFI circuit? Or has it been banned for all new wiring?

AND WHY?

millhand
10-23-2014, 03:30 PM