PDA

View Full Version : Hitachi SJ100DN VFD inquiry



Danl
12-24-2014, 07:25 PM
I have a Hitachi SJ100DN connected to my drill press, and it works fine, but I'd like to connect a potentiometer up to change frequency.

http://home.wavecable.com/~danlinscheid/VFD1.jpg

The manual is about 3/8" thick, and reads like greek to me. In the photo above, note the terminal near the bottom marked L 3 2 1 P24 CM2 12 and 11? I'm trying to figure out where to connect
the pot to these, or if I'm even looking at it correctly. Here is a photo of page 4-17:
http://home.wavecable.com/~danlinscheid/VFD2.jpg

Then on page 4-27, there is discussion on actually hooking up and external 1 to 2 K ohm pot, with the wiper connected to terminals H, O, and L.

I know there are a lot of experienced folks on here, and I appreciate any help I can get with this.

Thanks,

Dan

lakeside53
12-24-2014, 08:01 PM
That's an old vfd, but it's easy... O just takes 0-10v to control frequency. Between H and L - that's your 10v.


Top of pot to H, wiper to O, bottom of pot to L.

Control register A1 is set to O1 to enable O (voltage) input.

Ignore the P24 to AT part.

Make sure your pot is linear, not logarithmic. Easy to see - a 1k pot will be 500 ohms at the 50% point, 250 ohm ar the 75% point, etc.

Danl
12-24-2014, 08:32 PM
So you are saying that with A1 set to 01 value, it replaces the labeling on the terminal block from that shown in the photo to H O OI L etc.?

http://home.wavecable.com/~danlinscheid/VFD3.jpg

Thanks,

Dan

Edit: apologies for the inverted photo....fixed now.

lakeside53
12-25-2014, 01:26 AM
It's usually a separate block for the analog input/output. Post a close-up picture of the input/output blocks.

Edit: There is some chance yours doesn't have that connector block if it's been replaced with the Allen Bradley Device Net connectivity and connector. Are you sure you have the manual for the -DN version?

Danl
12-25-2014, 12:18 PM
It's usually a separate block for the analog input/output. Post a close-up picture of the input/output blocks.

Edit: There is some chance yours doesn't have that connector block if it's been replaced with the Allen Bradley Device Net connectivity and connector. Are you sure you have the manual for the -DN version?

It doesn't look like it is on the front of the panel, but possibly it is an unlabeled 4 connection terminal block above the power connection terminal inside.
http://home.wavecable.com/~danlinscheid/VFD4.jpg
http://home.wavecable.com/~danlinscheid/VFD5.jpg
No labeling on the above 4 post terminal block. hmmm......

Dan

RichR
12-25-2014, 12:43 PM
Hi Dan
According to this:
http://www.google.com/url?url=http://www.hitachi-america.us/supportingdocs/forbus/inverters/UserManuals/sj100dn-addendum_NB643X.pdf&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ei=CkicVOOyMYKcNvjbgYgN&ved=0CBQQFjAA&usg=AFQjCNEPbMb4dVSW1ZB2LBNCUJm-KUWNlw
it appears using a potentiometer is not an option for the DeviceNet version, see page 4.

lakeside53
12-25-2014, 01:40 PM
Yes.. you have a "custom" version, so you're stuck unless you wanted to implement a device net system (many times more cost than replacing the vfd).

Danl
12-26-2014, 12:25 PM
It's usually a separate block for the analog input/output. Post a close-up picture of the input/output blocks.

Edit: There is some chance yours doesn't have that connector block if it's been replaced with the Allen Bradley Device Net connectivity and connector. Are you sure you have the manual for the -DN version?

Thanks guys, I'll just give up. It works just fine, the potentiometer would have been icing on the cake.

Dan