X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • radkins
    • Sep 2008

Crashed&trashed ANOTHER cut-off tool

Well the title says it this makes the third one (HSS blades) and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong but then I have had no instruction on how to use one either, what little I know about machining has been self taught in my small shop with no one else around so please bear with me. I have made sure the tool was centered with the work (is that right?), I have tried various speeds, been careful to feed straight in and I take my time and feed very lightly but still I just can't seem to get it. I have broken several blades but again this time I have managed to trash the third blade and holder both at the same time, fortunately these are just relatively cheap tools from Grizzly. Any suggestions?
  • plunger
    • Nov 2006

Try it upside down. I find if I cut the groove wider than the blade it helps with a bit cause it allows the chips to escape.I k*k myself when it comes to parting and I am always scared I am going to crack my toolpost in a worse case scenario so I set my lathe on its highest gear speed but drop my vfd speed right down. My machine will stall in a jam rather than break the tool.I think some guys set the tool slightly lower than center so if it jams it tends to not dig but I am not sure of this and dont do it myself.I also dont use my parting tool upside down but I hear its more rigid this way and the swarf also falls out with gravity.

Comment

• iMisspell
      • Feb 2013

Just some tidbits...

Making sure cutt-off blade is parallel to chuck face.
      Have blade as short as possible.
      Having the tip a hair (really just a hair) below center.
      Use oil.

Posting back more details about what whent on when you broke the blades might help others respond.