PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a Lathe

Irwin
06-06-2004, 11:50 PM
I am a beginner with limit experience in lathe work. I do have a small hobby lathe that I have used but find it limited. I have limited space and obviously resources. Investigating lathes on the market I have come up with two options - the Grizzly G4015Z and the Smithy MIDAS 1220. Both priced about the same and both have comparable accessories. I am building a scale model airplane from scratch and need to both a lathe and a milling machine to manufacture the parts I need. I have looked online and found positives and negitives for both machines.

Can someone help with either how I should go about making a selection and/or provide some selection criteria that I should use to make the correct choise.

Thank you in advance.
Irwin

(PS I hope I have selected the right forum)

jfsmith
06-06-2004, 11:56 PM
what are your space limitaions and how much do you expect to spend? Where I end up spending lots of money is the rests, tool holders, tool posts, different tailstocks, etc.

Jerry

Irwin
06-07-2004, 12:21 AM
Jerry - thank you for responding:
Space is very limited, that is why I would like to select a 3 in 1. I expect to spend around $1500 for a lathe and the accessories to get started.

Thank you in advance,
Irwin

Joel
06-07-2004, 01:31 AM
Those choices are about as minimalist as machine tools get. They are light-duty, limited, and often problematic machines. Smithy even says “Excellent choice if you do a little machining now and then.” which is scary, knowing something about the ones claimed to be “precision”.
That being said, the Griz gets a slight nod at a couple of hundred dollars less. I have had good luck when dealing with Grizzly.

Perhaps a better quality lathe with a milling attachment?