PDA

View Full Version : Dial Test Indicator Trouble - Please help!

Rtldan
02-05-2015, 06:28 PM
Hello,
I recently bought a dial test indicator off of Amazon. It had good reviews, and it wasn't the cheapest one, but certainly no Starett, etc..
(I know you get what you pay for, but I am a hobbyist just trying to make sure my vise is square while learning to mill on my TAIG.)

Anyhow, I have been struggling for a couple months to get it to work successfully.
Today, I simply took my finger and pressed lightly on the stylus to see how it would react. That's when I noticed, it doesn't seem to be returning to it's starting position. No wonder I can't seem to accurately square a vise with it!

I opened the cover and applied a drop of synthetic oil to the gears (the same oil I use on my mill) as I had read it could be "sticking". That did not solve the problem.

I created a video to help show what I mean. I may have applied slightly more torque than was necessary in the video, but in my tests before the video, even a small amount of torque would drift and not return to it's starting point after a few repetitions.

So I'm basically clueless, asking is this thing a lemon? Is it out of calibration? Am I using it incorrectly? Is there anything I can do to fix it?

Thanks in advance for your time!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8j-0mC5vsHM

Bob Fisher
02-05-2015, 06:40 PM
I think the internal stop is not a reliable test. Put it up against the fixed jaw on your vise and zero it. Slide a shim, say .050 in between the indicator and vise and let it return to zero. If the zero changes then, you have a problem. The hand may be loose and I'd send it back. Bob"

iMisspell
02-05-2015, 06:53 PM
.. Slide a shim, say .050 ...That sounds like a good test, but i would not use a .050 (50 thousands) shim.
Most of them indicator's are only .015/.020 (.030 both ways) of travel.