PDA

View Full Version : OT Do you vaccine?

vpt
02-15-2015, 08:10 AM
Seems to be quite the talk about vaccines lately. I won't start off by saying if I am for it or not in hopes not to sway the direction of the thread. I am just curious what the brains here have to say about vaccines. Do you vaccinate? Do you not vaccinate? Why, why not, is it good?

michigan doug
02-15-2015, 09:20 AM
Yes, my kid got vaccinated. I'm a doctor and a scientist. The science is overwhelmingly in favor of vaccinations. Vaccinations don't cause autism. Yes, there can be complications from vaccinations. They are rare and mostly not serious. Occasionally, kids die from it. But if we don't vaccinate the vast majority of the population, lots and lots and lots more will be damaged or die from infectious disease.

It's simple and overwhelming math. I don't get why it's controversial.

doug

ikdor
02-15-2015, 09:25 AM
I hope this thread will stay non-political for long enough to get some sensible contributions.
As a father of two small kids I don't understand why someone would intentionally risk them dying or suffering a disease like polio. I guess nowadays most people have never seen the results of these diseases and figure they don't need it.
Unfortunately this is a slow darwinian effect, it only kills the kids of people choosing not to vaccinate and not the parents themselves.

I live in the bible belt in the netherlands and we had a small measles outbreak a while ago. 180 kids were hospitalised, but thanks to modern medicine only one died. This unfortunately reinforces their idea they don't need the vaccines to stay alive. Well, until we get a polio outbreak, that wouldn't be pretty.

People claim it's their own choice to not vaccinate, but they then take their kids to the same daycare where 3 month old kids go who havent had all their shots yet. It's irresponsible in my view.

It once again shows ignorance is not bliss, it's outight dangerous for society.

Igor

flylo
02-15-2015, 09:29 AM