PDA

View Full Version : Make A Lead Screw By Hand?

MachineMan384
02-23-2015, 04:44 PM
Hello, new member here. I am just getting into metalworking trades as a hobby and preparing to undergo training to become a machinist at community college. I have a great interest in the history of technology and as such, the history of industry. I have David Gingery's ""Build Your Own Metalworking Shop From Scrap" and am acquiring books as I can on patternmaking and so forth. I hope to at some point in the future build the Gingery machine shop.

One thing I was reading though was about how a critical innovation in allowing the Industrial Revolution to really ramp up was the invention by Henry Maudslay of the screw-cutting lathe. I read that the principle innovations were the slide-rest, lead screw, and set of change gears and how Maudslay combined them together. The thing is, before inventing the screw-cutting lathe, Maudslay had to make his lead screw by hand.

Well as a project, I would like to someday make a version of the Maudslay lathe from scratch, including hand-cutting the lead screw. What am I wondering is how would I go about learning how to do this? Are there any books or anything? I have Googled the subject on how to make a lead screw but it's always using machine tools to do so, not by hand (because who in their right mind in modern times would want to cut screws by hand?:) ).

Any suggestions appreciated.

loose nut
02-23-2015, 05:11 PM