PDA

View Full Version : Why doesn't my knee mill run?

krems
02-27-2015, 08:48 PM
Imagine my surprise when I powered up the knee mill and it doesn't run. I just finished moving the Webb 3 hp EVS head from one room into another - maybe 30 feet max. The mill runs on 220 volt single phase power. ( it ran great before I unhooked the machine just 3 days ago. I had an electrician run the 220v wire directly from the electrical panel on the house into the same room using the same electrical panel from the other room. The power checks out good at the electrical panel. My Monarch ee lathe runs fine on 220 v single phase power. I have the power cord running directly from the inverter box on the mill to the electrical panel. Now I am no electrician but could they have wired this wrong on the electrical panel because of the inverter box and single phase power? .... I hit the start button and get a buzzing sound and the RPM digital readout is very dim and no error code. The spindle won't turn. I am not getting power from the inverter box to the motor. I don't think it matters but I still have the head tilted towards me and to the side from the move. Any thoughts on what I should check?......could both legs be wired backwards or something? It looks like the white-black-green -red wires are all connected to the electrical panel.

lakeside53
02-27-2015, 09:54 PM
Measure the incoming voltage and make sure you have 240 volts (red to black) to the inverter, and from the red and black leads, 120v to the white (neutral) and ground. Why no error codes on the vfd - maybe it's faulty... no matter what it should show codes if it's working.

Jim Hubbell
02-27-2015, 10:09 PM
For start, try plugging in a machine that runs elsewhere into the new outlet. Go nogo?
I am not clear what an inverter box is in this setup. Have you any way to test for voltage which you are comfortable with?
More info may be helpful.

J Tiers
02-27-2015, 11:03 PM