PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Bearings//Harbor Freight-Central Machinery 5980

blazesjake
03-01-2015, 04:14 PM
Yes, I'm a newbie at this, but after acquiring and putting in some new bearings in this simple old 3-in-1 I milled a few parts ( took forever), but I was able to use it for my intended purposes, (simple custom motorcycle pieces).

Now I would like to get the lathe in shape. I haven't seen documentation on how to take apart the lathe drive, like I have seen for the mill spindle. If there is anything out there, or any 'suggestions' that anyone has, I would appreciate the input before I just use my intuition and start going at it.
Secondly, I notice that my lathe motor has a squeaking sound when moved manually, ( versus my mill motor doesn't). Any thoughts on this. It doesn't seem to be any different in sound level when running.

mickeyf
03-01-2015, 06:50 PM
I know nothing about this particular machine, but in my experience, squeaking is either the bearings or the hamsters on the little wheel inside. The first one you can check roughly by taking the load off (does this one have a belt you can disconnect?) and spinning by hand. Does it keep spinning freely and for a long time? When running the frequency of the squeak would probably increase beyond the range of hearing, but if something is rubbing at low speed it's likely still rubbing at high speed. Which bearing did you replace (not motor bearings I assume)?

blazesjake
03-01-2015, 09:31 PM
Thanks for the reply. I haven't taken the load off ( belt drive), but I will tomorrow. I agree on the frequency/rpm sound line of reasoning. I haven't fooled with the motor, the bearings I want to service, ( I'll start with repacking), are the two bearings on the lathe chuck drive assembly.

With a chinese electric motor, if it is the bearings, is this something that folks disassemble to replace, or just try to find a replacement motor?

mickeyf
03-01-2015, 10:25 PM