PDA

View Full Version : New Guy here - question on building a vertical head for an Altas mill

Snakeoleo
03-06-2015, 11:10 AM
Hi,

I'm new here. I am a formally trained machinist but have not been paid to cut chips for nearly 40 years. I have a small Atlas horz mill for which I'd like to make a vertical head. Not sure I can accomplish it with the machine tools I have. But it does not hurt to ask.

Does anyone have plans or experience building a head for one of these? I've seen a couple completed head, but no plans or details. I was thinking that I might be able to cannibalize an old drill press and replace the bearing with C5 units. The Atlas is a light duty machine so a drill press quill should be strong enough and I'd pick one with a Morse taper like my Craftsman drill press has.

Any tips/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

hermetic
03-06-2015, 01:20 PM
Hi Snake, Not familiar with the atlas. what is the taper fitting in the nose? My Harrison is int30.Are you in the UK?

Phil
UK

mickeyf
03-06-2015, 01:21 PM
This is something I've also thought about getting around to some day. The two approaches I have seen are the "drive it with a belt from the horizontal spindle" and the "entirely separate motor & head" - in one case someone used a taig mill head for appraoch #2, IIRC. There are some commercial units (on eBay?) that use the first approach.

I have probably a couple of years of my limited free time other projects to do first, but I'll be very interested to see what you do and how you do it.

hermetic
03-06-2015, 01:22 PM
Actually if you google "vertical head for atlass milling machine" there is lots of pics and info including a pic of a belt driven one which requires no gearing and looks quite easy to make!
Phil

mickeyf
03-06-2015, 01:24 PM
Hermetic -

It has a #2 morse.

Carm
03-06-2015, 01:43 PM
What do you expect to do with it?