PDA

View Full Version : New Pocket knife, Sheffield razor knife

ibewgypsie
06-11-2004, 03:47 PM
I am a electrician, I strip a lot of tray cable, I have carried the same pocket knife for about ten years now, a Stanley folding blade box cutter with disposable blade, I sharpen it and have not ever replaced the blade.

I was at the hydraulic supply saw one of these on the counter for $8, a Sheffield folding pocket type knife that uses a common razor blade type blade, the blade is changeable without needing a screwdriver, reversible and I can use the funcky hook blades I bought to strip cable. I really like it so far, other then being more bulky then the stanley I think it is a good replacement.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4306579487&category=42251

YOU Can get it cheaper locally.

No connection, I just really like it. I still carry the 4" buck knife to eat with, just don't abuse it by cutting cable. I still remember the policeman laughing at the mayonaise in my buck knife... Nothing like watching me eat pudding (forgot my spoon) with a razor sharp buck knife. Very carefully....

David

Tony
06-11-2004, 05:15 PM
i used to carry a swissarmy knife on me round the clock. its the 'mechanic' in me.
there are a few that are real slim & don't have all the 'toys' just a *lock* blade and a screwdriver or two.

i've had one too many taken from me from law enforcement and just gave up.

now carry a leatherman. its bulkier but seems more "acceptable"

question: the blade in my leatherman is pretty screwed. its seen alot of hard work. i'd like to change it (even for a different blade style)... but i've never tried to take the thing apart. anyone know how they're put together? are they pressed?
do i have any chance of getting it back together if i pry it apart?

they're supposed to have a 25yr warantee but i dont know if that applies to "Useage" ... i'd hate to have to get another one since everything else is good.

-tony

Dave Opincarne
06-11-2004, 06:47 PM